Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for July 4th, 2020

Exactly nine years ago, I crafted a “Declaration of Dependence” for my left-leaning friends.

I thought it was reasonably clever, at least for something produced by a policy wonk.

But I’ll never reach the standards of the nation’s top satire site, Babylon Bee, which has a story about how Biden, Pelosi, and other politicians will be celebrating today.

Every year on July 4, Democrats celebrate the high holy day where they thank the government for its gracious gifts. “It’s good to pause every year and think about how we are completely and utterly dependent on the government for everything,” said Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi. …”This good and benevolent government was given to us by, you know, the thing,” said Joe Biden. …The DNC’s official Twitter account tweeted, “Let’s take a moment to think about everything we owe the government this Dependence Day.” …The celebrations conclude with the reading of the Communist Manifesto and the singing of “Imagine”.

Here’s the make-believe tweet that accompanied the story.

Though maybe it’s not fake.

After all, some of us remember “Julia,” the mythical moocher created by the Obama-Biden campaign in 2012 to show how government could subsidize every aspect of a person’s life.

In any event, there is academic research showing that traditional July 4 celebrations help Republicans, so it’s understandable that Democrats would want to change the focus.

P.S. My two cents is that we should be celebrating today the words of Calvin Coolidge and Ronald Reagan.

P.P.S. Given the BLM protests, I would be remiss if I didn’t call attention to the words I shared last July 4 from one of the Tuskegee Airmen.

P.P.P.S. And since I wrote recently about the (hopeful) death of gun control, I’ll also share this polling data from 2014 about how even 35 percent of Democrats agree that owning a gun is a form of patriotism.

Read Full Post »