Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for June 14th, 2012

Since I’ve written several times that the United States will face a fiscal crisis if entitlement programs aren’t reformed, you won’t be surprised to see that I repeat those points in this CNBC debate.

But I’m not happy with my performance.

Not because my leftist opponent grabbed more air time (mostly because the host started challenging him, which also happens periodically when I’m on Kudlow’s show), but because he gave me a giant opening to completely destroy his arguments and I failed to seize the opportunity.

He kept arguing that America is more dynamic and innovative than Europe, which generally is true, but then he argued that we should copy Europe’s fiscal policy by increasing the burden of government spending.

I think the points I made to wrap up the debate were fine, but I would be much happier with my performance if I had pointed out this huge hole in his position.

As shown in this amusing and clever poster, you don’t solve the problems created by government with more government.

Read Full Post »

In my efforts to promote liberty, I’ve noticed that some people seem impervious to logical arguments and empirical evidence.

Since they have a child-like faith in government, perhaps the best way to reach them is with updated versions of children’s stories and fables.

I’ve already shared the PC version of the story about the ant and the grasshopper, as well as the modern fable about bureaucracy, featuring an ant and a lion. Now it’s time for a revised version of Green Eggs and Ham.

I do not like this Uncle Sam,
I do not like his health care scam.

I do not like these dirty crooks,
or how they lie and cook the books.

I do not like when Congress steals,
I do not like their secret deals.

I do not like ex-speaker Nan,
I do not like this ‘YES, WE CAN!’

I do not like this spending spree —
Even a fool knows that nothing’s free.

I do not like the smug replies,
when we complain about their lies.

I do not like this kind of hope.
I do not like it, I’m not a dope!

If your left-wing friends understand this fable, then you can see if they’re ready for more advanced stories, such as the one about using beer to explain the tax system, the joke about using two cows to explain various economic and political systems.

At some point, after years of therapy and education, maybe they’ll even be ready for grown-up analysis!

Read Full Post »