Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for August 24th, 2012

Earlier this month, I posted some risqué Romney humor, and a few days later I hit Obama with a very funny poster.

Today, in keeping with this bipartisan approach, here are three videos. Two of them make fun of the presumptive GOP nominee and one mocks the boy-crying-wolf way that the left cries racism whenever someone criticizes Obama.

We’ll start with this video, which effectively dings Romney for his lack of core convictions. The guy who does Romney’s voice is very good.

I’ve criticized Romney for a bunch of statist policy positions, but I confess that I have no idea if he actually believes in those views – just like I have no idea if he’s sincere when he says something I like.

That’s what makes the video so effective.

Obama girl could influence my vote

This next video is also worth sharing, but I don’t think it’s as effective. First, the “Romney Girl” isn’t as attractive as the “Obama Girl,” and that matters when trying to reach immature males in the audience (like me!).

Second, the guy playing Romney doesn’t look like him.

On the other hand, the video deals with one of my favorite topics and also involves one of my favorite nations.

So watch and judge for yourself.

If you want a quick and serious explanation of why the “tax haven” charge against Romney is without merit, feel free to peruse this post.

But this post is more about whether videos are politically effective, not whether they’re accurate.

Now let’s look at a video mocking the Obamanoids for reflexively crying racism.

I have no doubt that there are some racists who don’t like Obama, but it is a bit over the top to see some leftists routinely cry race when they’re losing arguments.

But if I had to defend Obama’s miserable economic record, I supposed I’d have to cry wolf as well.

Read Full Post »

It’s not often that I read something by Paul Krugman and think, “Good point, I hope he’s correct.”

After all, I had to correct Krugman’s inaccurate analysis of Estonia, and also point out the errors in what he wrote about the United Kingdom. And I also noted mistakes he made when writing about Canada and France.

And let’s not forget his absurd assertion that it would be good for the U.S. economy if aliens threatened to attack!

It certainly seems as if he specializes in making mistakes.

But he has just written something that sort of makes sense.

In pushing for draconian cuts in Medicaid, food stamps and other programs that aid the needy, Mr. Ryan isn’t just looking for ways to save money. He’s also, quite explicitly, trying to make life harder for the poor — for their own good. In March, explaining his cuts in aid for the unfortunate, he declared, “We don’t want to turn the safety net into a hammock that lulls able-bodied people into lives of dependency and complacency, that drains them of their will and their incentive to make the most of their lives.”

To be more specific, I hope Krugman is right in that Ryan wants “to make life harder for the poor” if the alternative is to have their lives stripped of meaning by government dependency.  And I agree that it will be “for their own good” if they’re motivated to join the workforce.

To be sure, Krugman wants readers to reach the opposite conclusion. Even though the War on Poverty seems to have put an end to the progress we were making (see this remarkable chart), Krugman equates spending money with compassion.

And I suppose I should point out that he is completely wrong (using dishonest Washington budget math) when writing about “draconian cuts” since Cong. Ryan is merely proposing to slow down how fast government spending is growing.

P.S. For those who want more information, watch this video to learn about how government anti-poverty programs hurt the poor.

P.P.S. Check out this map to see how various U.S. states subsidize poverty.

P.P.P.S. To get your blood boiling, read this horrifying post about how a left-wing international bureaucracy conspiring with the Obama White House to redefine poverty in ways that make America look bad.

Read Full Post »

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,403 other followers

