Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for April 19th, 2009

Last week, I went to New Hampshire to give a speech to the University of New Hampshire Students for Liberty (some members of the University of Southern Maine chapter came down for the speech as well). Yesterday, I spoke to the Young Republican state convention in Virginia. While both speeches were about the negative impact of ever-expanding¬†government, I was intrigued by the differences between my audiences. The folks from the Students for Liberty (the picture below is me with the leadership of the UNH and USM chapters)¬†reminded me of my college days as head of the University of Georgia chapter of Young Americans for Freedom. These kids are motivated by ideas, not party affiliation. I did not have much opportunity to socialize with the YR crowd, but I got the feeling that party affiliation came first. The audience was reasonably sympathetic to my remarks, to be sure, but nobody spontaneously cheered when I explained how Bush’s statist policies helped drive the economy into a ditch.

unh

Read Full Post »

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,514 other followers

